Application Deadline: June 16th, 2021

From 17 March to 16 June 2021, UNESCO will receive applications to the International Fund for Cultural Diversity (IFCD). Established under the 2005 Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions, the IFCD is a voluntary multi-donor fund which supports the emergence of dynamic cultural sectors in developing countries.

This year, the IFCD joins the celebration of the International Year of the Creative Economy for Sustainable Development by calling for projects that aim to make strong contributions to the creative economy in developing countries that are Parties to the 2005 Convention.

Public institutions, and non-governmental organizations (NGO) from eligible countries are invited to submit their proposals, as well as international NGOs registered in countries that are Parties to the 2005 Convention. The projects must clearly lead to structural changes through:

  • Introduction and/or elaboration of policies and strategies that have a direct and structural impact on the creation, production, distribution of and access to a diversity of cultural goods and services;
  • Reinforcement of skills in public sector and civil society organizations to support viable local and regional cultural industries and markets in developing countries.

All projects shall ultimately contribute to sustainable creative ecosystem and the 2030 Sustainable Development Agenda of the United Nations.

Since 2010, the IFCD has invested $8.7 million through 120 projects in 60 developing countries. These diverse initiatives have assisted the emergence of sustainable systems of cultural governance, notably by creating an enabling environment for cultural entrepreneurs, access to new markets for cultural goods and services, and accessibility to diverse cultural expressions. In 2021, as the creative sector faces an unprecedented challenge caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, the IFCD reaffirms its commitment to continue investing in culture and creativity as drivers of sustainable development.

The 12th Call for Applications will close on 16 June 2021, noon Paris time.

For any inquiries, please contact the 2005 Convention UNESCO Secretariat at:

See past projects funded by the IFCD.


Eligible countries for Call for Applications 2021 (developing countries that have ratified the 2005 Convention):

Afghanistan Chad Grenada Montenegro Senegal
Albania Chile Guatemala Morocco Serbia
Algeria China Guinea Mozambique Seychelles
Angola Colombia Guyana Namibia South Africa
Antigua and Barbuda Comoros Haiti Nicaragua South Sudan
Argentina Congo Honduras Niger Sudan
Armenia Costa Rica India Nigeria Syrian Arab Republic
Azerbaijan Côte d’Ivoire Indonesia Niue Tajikistan
Bahamas Cuba Iraq North Macedonia Timor-Leste
Bangladesh Democratic Republic of the Congo Jamaica Oman Togo
Barbados Djibouti Jordan Palestine Trinidad and Tobago
Belarus Dominica Kenya Panama Tunisia
Belize Dominican Republic Kuwait Paraguay Turkey
Benin Ecuador Lao People’s Democratic Republic Peru Uganda
Bolivia (Plurinational State of) Egypt Lesotho Qatar Ukraine
Bosnia and Herzegovina El Salvador Madagascar Republic of Korea United Arab Emirates
Botswana Equatorial Guinea Malawi Republic of Moldova United Republic of Tanzania
Brazil Eswatini Mali Rwanda Uruguay
Burkina Faso Ethiopia Mauritania Saint Kitts and Nevis Uzbekistan
Burundi Gabon Mauritius Saint Lucia Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
Cambodia Gambia Mexico Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Viet Nam
Cameroon Georgia Mongolia Samoa Zimbabwe
Central African Republic Ghana


Click here to apply