Deadline: September 30 , 2022

The Dr Andreas Schild Memorial Mountain Prize is awarded every year to an individual, organization, or private sector entity based in the HKH or beyond, which has demonstrated outstanding efforts enabling sustainable and resilient mountain development in the HKH region to benefit the environment as well as communities—particularly the poor, the youth, and women.

In 2022, the focus of the award will be building the resilience of HKH communities. Nominations will be accepted for those individuals, organizations, or companies that have worked with HKH communities through innovations in their various capacities and brought about positive tangible change on the ground.

ICIMOD issues a first call for nominations in June of every year. It awards the Prize and Honorable Mentions to the deserving nominees on December 11 (International Mountain Day).


The prize is currently set at USD 2,500.


Nomination process guidelines

a) Who can be nominated – eligibility criteria?

Any individual, organization or private sector entity that has done outstanding work in the HKH is eligible for the prize and can be nominated (hereafter referred to as ‘nominee’). The nominee must have made a demonstrable impact. While we would like to particularly acknowledge the efforts of individuals or entities that have worked in line with ICIMOD’s mandate, this is not a pre-condition for the award.

b) Who can nominate?

Any individual can nominate any organization or a private sector entity or another individual that meets the eligibility criteria outlined under a) above, including his/her own organization or company, for the prize. We expect the said individual (hereafter referred to as ‘nominator’) to be very familiar with the work of the organization or company or individual he/she is nominating. The nominator should nominate only after receiving the consent of the nominee (head of the entity in case of an organization or company).

Self-nomination (nominating one-self for the prize) is not permitted and the nominator may nominate only once.

c) How to nominate?

Anybody wishing to nominate an eligible individual or organization or company for the prize must submit his or her nomination through the relevant online form, which will be made public from June 5 through September 30.

The nominator must provide accurate information on his/her nominee’s work and the impact it has brought about.

In particular, the nominator must:

  • provide personal information on the nominee such as full name and contact address;
  • specify in which work area(s) the nominee has made demonstrable impact;
  • provide an overview of the nominee’s outstanding work;
  • provide a credible narrative on how the nominee’s outstanding work has contributed to resilience of communities in the face of the pandemic and brought about transformative change on the ground;
  • provide an argument for why the nominee deserves to win the prize;
  • provide supporting documents, including links to online articles, or videos, or publications that provide evidence of the nominee’s work and impact;
  • provide contact information of two referees who also know the nominee well;
  • statement vouching for the accuracy of the information provided through the nomination form


Selection criteria

A committee for the Dr Andreas Schild Memorial Mountain Prize will judge the submitted nominations and may invite appraisals by external experts to decide on the winner of the Prize. They may contact the nominator, nominee and referee(s) for more information.

The commission will pick the winner of the prize and Honorable Mentions based on the following criteria:

  • demonstrable impact
  • innovation
  • degree of importance given to gender equity and social inclusion (GESI)
  • potential for scalability and sustainability


Click Here To Apply

Join our telegram grow to get hot business funding opportunities, business tips & business ideas